This is What I'm Doing Everyday For You!

Hey fans of the nerd revolution,

This is the 2nd half of the Note Taking Nerd Duo here to share something I learned from the Jewish King Of Comedy, Jerry Seinfeld.

First of all I’m grateful for the opportunity to connect with a person such as yourself, who’s as dedicated as I am to finding ways to improve themselves.

I look forward to building a business friendship with you.

With our formal intro off the table, lets get down to bidniz.

What’s a business skill you’d like to improve?

You think of one?  Good.

Jerry’s Secret Unveiled

One time Jerry Seinfeld was asked “What’s the one thing an up and coming comic could do to improve their chances of hittin’ it big like he did?” by a fledgling comic.

The rookie was looking for the secret he could apply once and hit a home run with but he was in for an answer most people, maybe even you, might not like.

Jerry told the wanna-be to go to an office supply store and buy himself a calendar.

One of the ones you can put on the wall and see every month, everyday of the year at a glance.

And a red marker.

Jerry Conquered The Sitcom Kingdom With A Piece of Paper And A Sharpie

He told him “The answer to your question, is to write everyday.  Not every other day.  Not once a week.  EVERY DAY.”

“After you’ve logged your writing for the day, you can face your calendar, marker in hand and put a fat red X through that day.”  He said

“Don’t break the chain.  Doing this got my routines razor sharp, kept my creativity flowing when I needed lots of it and this insured I was on when opportunity knocked at my door.”

It was like a policy he had that guaranteed he’d be taken care of no matter how gruesome things looked at the time.

Ever since I heard this story I’ve followed Jerry’s advice and the picture below is what I answer to every night before I go nighty night.

I get to study marketing or copywriting for at least 1 hour a day.

I get to meditate for at least 15 minutes a day.

And I get to do something that’ll make me flexible and strong everyday.

Notice I didn’t say have to.  I said I get to because I see these simple actions as rewards I’m giving to myself that make my life easier and more pleasurable.

What’s one easy thing you could do everyday that would make your life better?

I remember my hero Gary Bencivenga saying at his seminar something to the effect of…

“If you can only improve 1% a week, that 1%, multiplied week by week compounds into a huge percentage.”

Don’t underestimate the value of little actions taken consistently.

Get your ass over to Office Max and pick up a calendar if you want an accountability coach who will get in your face and help you get what you want out of life… without shouting at and spitting all over you.

Start out simple.  Set yourself up to win by doing something you could do even on the busiest of busy days anywhere on the planet.

And do it for at least 10 minutes.  I know there’s 10 minutes somewhere in your life.  Use it and start snowballing this into something you’re proud of.

I fell in love with this simple process and I’m sure you will too.

Wishing you speedy and spectacular success,

Note Taking Nerd 2

