Could the Answer To This Question Reveal Why You’re Either Damned or Blessed?

What could seeing the world as a friendly place do for you?

Hey you,

It’s #2.

Check this out…

Someone once asked Albert Einstein, “Dr. Einstein, you’ve studied the workings of the universe from the tiny atom to the cosmos.  What do you think is the most important question for people to find the answer to?”

And Albert looked up into space for a while then down at his shoe laces and looked back at the gentleman asking the question and said “Well, I think the most important question for people to find the answer to is, Is the universe a friendly place?”

He said, “If the universe is a friendly place, then you’ll use your technology and tools for understanding because power will come through understanding.   If it’s a friendly place then you understand that part and understand the mechanism and it doesn’t mean that it’s safe if it’s friendly, but it’s power and it’s protection will come through understanding how things work.

If it’s an unfriendly place, then you’re going to use your tools, your technology for creating walls and building weapons.  You have to protect yourself from the evil and the unfriendliness that’s around you.”

I heard this while listening to a program by Robert Dilts about changing your beliefs about health.  Here’s what Robert said after relaying that quote…

“And hearing this, I think asking yourself if your body is a friendly place would be enlightening.

I believe that everyone’s view of the world around them is nothing more than a mirror for your view of yourself.  In other words, the only way you have of understanding the world around you is through programs. In other words, for people who think that well, ‘There’s bad guys in the world and you have to take care of it, blah, blah, blah,’ you can bet that that’s gonna be going on inside of them.

If a person doesn’t want to tell you about themselves, ask them about politics and they’ll just lay out what they think about themselves, practically, ‘Well you know, people get out of hand and you’ve got to control ‘em and the only way to control ‘em is you’ve gotta give ‘em a whack every now and then.’

That person is basically saying that that’s what they do to themselves as well.  Because the world out there isn’t out there. It’s all channeled through this lump of gray matter called your brain and the way that you sort it out and make sense of it and understand why people do what they do is based on your own personal experiences.

So when you think about Iran or Iraq, and you think that evil is slowly pervading the world, you might want to take a look inside yourself as well.

I don’t mean for you to take that too seriously and go inside and say ‘If I think this then I’m bad,’ I don’t mean that at all.  I just mean, you might ponder the question tonight, ‘Is the universe a friendly place?’

Again, not safe, not perfect.

I think harmony is perfectly natural but I don’t think it’s naturally perfect.  That’s true about all of us.  Health is perfectly natural but we don’t always do the naturally perfect thing.

Nerd 2 back.

So, is your universe a friendly place or not?

The above passage makes me think about this quote…

“I pray thee, O God that I may be beautiful within.”

Socrates

Throughout the majority of my life my inner world has been a pig pen.

Because of this it’s carved a path for me that has allowed me to taste the asphalt and kiss the sky.  And still, my life is a roller coaster and every day, every hour, every minute I need to be reminded of what’s beautiful, what’s possible, what would serve my highest purpose of being a man of value to myself and those with whom I have the pleasure of encountering in my life.

There is something to having a code of conduct, a routine you can check off, preferably with pad and pen, that’s lets you know you’ve reached toward being the best you could be before you lay down to go to bed at night.

I’d never really had an inkling of what a ‘Code of Conduct’ was and what it could do to shape your universe until Tony Robbins introduced me to a man by the name of John Wooden, the man named “Coach of the Century” by ESPN, through his Power Talk interview series.

Just in case you don’t know about John Wooden, here’s a glimpse of what this man accomplished just while coaching college basketball at UCLA, University of California, Los Angeles…

During his tenure with the Bruins, Wooden became known as the “Wizard of Westwood” (although he personally hated the nickname) and gained lasting fame with UCLA by winning 664 games in 27 seasons and 10 NCAA titles during his last 12 seasons.  Don’t hold me to this but I believe the record was 2 NCAA Championship wins in a row, this man won 7 in a row from 1967 to 1973. His UCLA teams also had a record winning streak of 88 games and four perfect 30–0 seasons. They also won 38 straight games in NCAA Tournaments and a record 98 straight home games at Pauley Pavilion.

Simply LEGENDARY!

And what does John credit his hall of fame performance to?  An index card.  Here, I’ll let John tell you about himself as he did in one of his books…

The Gift of a Lifetime

When I graduated (around 1920) from our little three-room grade school in Centerton, Indiana, I got dressed up in clean overalls for the big event.  For my graduation present Dad gave me an old, wrinkled two-dollar bill that he probably been hanging onto for some time.

He said, “Johnny, as long as you have this you’ll never be broke,” and he was pretty close to right.  Eventually I gave it to my own son Jim.

Dad also gave me something that day that would shape my entire life: my work, my marriage, my goals, my entire philosophy.  It was a card on which he had written a few guidelines.  I still carry it with me.  On one side was this verse by the Reverend Henry Van Dyke:

Four things a man must learn to do

If he would make his life more true:

To think without confusion clearly,

To love his fellow-man sincerely,

To act from honest motives purely,

To Trust in God and Heaven securely.

The little verse was straightforward but profound: think clearly, have love in your heart, be honest, and trust in God.

On the other side of the paper, Dad had written out his creed.  At the top of the paper, it said “Seven Things to Do.”  It read as follows:

  1. Be true to yourself.
  2. Help others.
  3. Make each day your masterpiece.
  4. Drink deeply from good books, especially the Bible.
  5. Make friendship a fine art.
  6. Build a shelter against a rainy day.
  7. Pray for guidance and count and give thanks for your blessings every day.

All he said when he gave me the little note he had written was, “Son, try and live up to these things.”

I wish I could say I have lived up to them.  I have tried.  Over the years, as I’ve attempted to follow his creed, I’ve gained a deeper understanding of it.

Once again, I ask you, is your universe a friendly place?

If it isn’t, what would have to happen inside of you to make it friendly?

By just focusing on these 7 things daily, this man did the impossible and if you were to ask the 99 year old John Wooden or Einstein this question, what do you think their answer would be?

Talk to you again soon,

Note Taking Nerd #2

