Hey,

There was a question recently posted over at http://www.smartpassiveincome.com.

Awesome blog by the way.

The question was ….

Is Giving Away Free Information Bad?

Below is my advice on the subject.

Chick Bikini

How Much Would You Pay To See The Other 5%?

Introducing The Bikini Principle

One of the greatest pieces of advice I ever received on this topic that made common sense to me was given to me by Sonia Simone of Copyblogger fame via her speech at Dan Kennedy’s Info-Summit.

Part of what she was talking about was content marketing and why it’s such an awesome path to building a business. She used a term Sean d’ Souza gave her called “The Bikini Principle” to show people why giving away free info was a good idea.

“The Bikini Principle” is built on the law of nature that says someone will always be willing to pay to see the 5% under the bikini. So true!

Think about this blog. If I was in a “Speed” mode and I have some money I can spend, I’m going to happily pay you your coaching fee… EVEN IF EVERY ANSWER I NEED IS BURIED IN THE ARCHIVES OF THE SITE.

Part of this is me thinking my situation might be a little different and by me being able to ask subtle nuance questions, rapid fire, and get them implemented, making me money right away, why would I take the long route of researching everything for myself?

The other part is laziness. If you’ve already done all the work and for a little bit of money, you’ll let me butt to the front of the line and either get the 5% high level answers/strategies you haven’t written or done videos on, I’m gonna jump at the opportunity.

But you baring 95% of your hot naked body of information is what helps get me to the point where I trust the fact that you know what you’re talking about, that you’re generous (which is a wealthy person’s trait – contrary to what people may have you think) and that you’re cool and your way of seeing the world matches mine enough to where I could see myself enjoying having my way with you, all alone, all to myself.

There’s always a segment of your market willing to pay to see it all!!! Trust in that fact like you trust that Monday comes right after Sunday and you’ll be rewarded handsomely!

