Thong blog

When you master the high art of “Grabbing Attention” your marketing results will buy you all the bling you want…

Hey You,

It’ s #2.

For pretty much close to a jillion hours now, I’ve been taking notes on Eben Pagan’s Guru Blueprint Program.

And throughout those zillions of minutes he keeps repeating and  repeating and repeating the same mantra. For 12 god damn weeks straight. Same mantra, over and over and over again, keeps coming up – especially when he’s doing Q&A.

I’m gonna channel Eben’s voice today give you the key that lets the exact words flow out your mouth that when heard, make deep, sweet, penetrating love to your perfect prospect’s ear holes… and when seen, get their eyes attention just as surely as when a smoking hot babes thong is showing  above her butt crack while  she’s wearing low cut jeans.

This is the strategy Eben would resort to if he had to start all over again!!!

And I’m gonna use an absolutely wonderful story to tell you why this is such a critical skill to master. It’s comes from the book, “The Art of Learning” by Josh Waitzkin. Josh was one of the contributors to Rich Schefren and Jay Abraham’s “League of Extraordinary Entrepreneurs” teleseminar series.

Based on the incredible knowledge he shared during his segments, I went out and got his book.  I’ve only just started, but it’s been an exciting ride to say the least.  While reading I was compelled to share this part of it, that I believe beautifully illustrates Eben’s mantra.

6 Year Old Rookie To Chess

Whoops Ass On Grizzled Chess Pro’s

Josh’s background is nothing short of amazing.

Here’s a quick overview from the book that gets you right up to speed with his legend…

I had been competing around the world in elite chess tournaments since I was eight years old, I had consistently been the highest rated player for my age in the United Scares, and my life was dominated by competitions and training regimens designed to bring me into peak form for the next national or world championship .

I had spent the years between ages fifteen and eighteen in the maelstrom of American media following the release of the film Searching for Bobby Fischer, which was based on my dad ‘s book about my early chess life.

I was known as, America’s great young chess player and it was my destiny to follow in the footsteps of immortal’s like Bobby Fischer and Garry Kasparov, to be world champion.

Now, his amazing story in his words, starting with the first time he ever played chess on the streets of New York City…

“A few days later my mom and I were walking through the same corner of the park when I broke away from her and ran up to an old man with a grey beard who was setting up plastic pieces on one of the marble boards.

That day I had watched a couple of kids playing chess at school and I thought I could do it. – “Wanna play?” The old man looked at me suspiciously over his spectacles. My mom apologized, explained that I didn’t know how to play chess, but the old man said that it was okay, he had children, and he had a little time to kill.

My mom tells me that when the game began my tongue was out and resting on my upper lip, a sure sign I was either stuffed up or concentrating.

“I remember the strange sensation of discovering a lost memory.”

As we moved the pieces, I felt like I had done this before.

There was a harmony to this game, like a good song. The old man read a newspaper while I thought about my moves, but after a few minutes he got angry and snapped at my mom, accused her of hustling him. Apparently I was playing well.

I had generated an attack by coordinating a few of my pieces and the old man had to buckle down to fight it off. After a little while a crowd gathered around the board —

After a little while a crowd gathered around the board – people were whispering something about “Young Fischer.” My mom was confused, a little concerned about what had come over her boy. I was in my own world.

Eventually the old man won the game. We shook hands and he asked me my name. He wrote it on his newspaper and said…

“Josh Waitzkin, I’m gonna read about you

in the paper someday.”

From that day forward, Washington Square Park (New York City) became a second home to me. And chess became my first love. After school, instead of hungering for soccer or baseball, I insisted on heading to the park.

I’d plop down against some scary looking dude, put my game face on, and go to war. I loved the thrill of the battle, and some days I would play countless speed chess games, hour after hour staring through the jungle of pieces, figuring things out, throwing mental grenades back and forth in a sweat. I would go home with chess pieces flying through my mind, and then I would ask my dad to take down his dusty wooden set and play with me.

Over time, as I became a trusted part of the park scene, the guys took me under their wings, showed me their tricks, taught me how to generate devastating attacks and get into the head of my opponent.

“I became a protégé of the street, hard to rattle,

a feisty competitor.”

It was a bizarre school for a child, a rough crowd of alcoholics, homeless geniuses, wealthy gamblers hooked on the game, junkies, eccentric artists – all diamonds in the rough, brilliant, beat men, lives in shambles, aflame with a passion for chess.

Every day, unless it poured or snowed, the nineteen marble tables in the southwest corner of Washington Square would fill up with this motley crew. And most of the days I was there, knocking chessmen over with my short arms, chewing gum, learning the game.

Of course my parents thought long and hard before allowing me to hang out in the park, but I was adamant and the guys cleaned up their acts when I came to play. The cigarettes and joints were put out, the language was cleaned up, few deals went down.

I would sit across from one of my buddies, immediately sweating and focused. My mom told me she saw her little boy become an old man when I played chess.

“I concentrated so hard, she thought her hand would burn

if she put it in front of my eyes.”

It’s difficult for me to explain the seriousness I had about chess as a young boy. I guess it was a calling, though I’m still not sure what that means.

After a few months I could already beat a number of the guys who had been playing for decades. When I lost a game, one of my friends would give me a piece of advice – “Josh, you laid back too long, he got comfortable , you gotta go after ‘em, make ‘em scared” or “Josh, my man, sometimes you gotta castle, get your king to safety, check yourself before you wreck yourself.”

Then I would hit the clock, buckle down, and try again. Each loss was a lesson, each win a thrill. Every day pieces of the puzzle fell together.

Whenever I showed up to play, big crowds would gather around the table. I was a star in this little world, and while all the attention was exciting for a child, it was also a challenge.

I learned quickly that when I thought about the people watching, I played badly. It was hard for a six-year-old ham to ignore throngs of adults talking about him, but when well focused, I seemed to hover in an in-between state where the intensity of the chess position mixed with the rumble of voices, traffic noises, ambulance sirens, all in an inspiring swirl that fueled my mind.

“Some days I could concentrate more purely in the chaos of Washington Square than in the quiet of my family’s living room.”

Other days I would look around at everybody, get caught up in their conversations, and play terribly.

I’m sure it was frustrating for my parents watching my early discovery of chess – there was no telling whether I’d chew gummy bears, smile, joke, and hang my pieces or buckle down into another world of intensity.

One Saturday afternoon there was a tall figure standing in the crowd while I played speed chess against my friend Jerry. I noticed him, but then fell back into the game.

A couple of hours later the man approached my father and introduced himself as Bruce Pandolfini, a master-level player and a chess teacher. Bruce told my dad I was very gifted, and offered to teach me.

It turns out that my father recognized Bruce as the man who did television commentary with Shelby Lyman during the historic Bobby Fischer vs. Boris Spassky World Championship match in 1972.

The match had revolutionized chess – it was a cold-war face-off pitting the Soviet World Champion along with his team of one hundred coaches and trainers against the brash reengage American challenger who did all his preparation alone in a room without a view. Fischer was a combination of James Dean and Greta Garbo and America was fascinated.

“There were huge political implications to this contest of great thinkers.”

Increasingly, as the match unfolded, it became perceived as the embodiment of the cold war. Henry Kissinger called Bobby with support; politicians on both sides followed each game closely.

The world watched breathlessly as Shelby and Bruce brought chess to life on television with their human, down-home analysis of the games. When Fischer won the match, he became an international celebrity and chess exploded across America.

Suddenly the game stood shoulder to shoulder with basketball, football, baseball, hockey. Then in 1975 Fischer disappeared instead of defending his title. Chess in America receded into the shadows.

Ever since the American chess world has been searching for a new Bobby Fischer, someone to bring the sport back into the limelight.

Shelby and Bruce had captured my dad’s imagination twenty years before, and now it was a bit surreal that Bruce was offering to teach his six-year-old bowling ball of a child. I was nonplussed.

Chess was fun, and the guys in the park were my buddies. They were teaching me fine. Why should I have any more coaches? I was private about chess, as if it were an intimate fantasy world.

“I had to trust someone to let them into my thought process, and Bruce had to overcome this shield

before the work could begin.”

Our first lessons were anything but orthodox. We hardly “studied chess.” Bruce knew it was more important for us to get to know one another, to establish a genuine camaraderie.

So we talked about life, sports, dinosaurs, things that interested me. Whenever the discussion turned to chess, I was stubborn about my ideas and refused to receive formal instruction.

I insisted on some bad habits I had learned in the park – for example, bringing out my queen early. This is a typical beginner’s error: the queen is the most powerful piece on the chessboard so people want to bring here into the action right away.

Against unskilled opponents who can’t parry simple attacks, this strategy works marvelously. The problem is that since the queen cannot be traded for any of the opponent’s pieces without significant loss, she can be chased all over the board while the other guy naturally brings his less valuable but quite potent warriors into play and simultaneously swats aside the primitive threats of the lone queen.

“Logical enough, but I resisted because I had won so many early games with a wandering queen. Bruce couldn’t convince me with words – he had to prove it.”

Bruce decided we should have knock-down drag-out speed chess matches like the ones I was used to in the park. Whenever I made a fundamental error, he would mention the principle I had violated.

If I refused to budge, he’d proceed to take advantage of the error until my position fell apart. Over time, Bruce earned my respect as I saw the correctness of his ideas. I learned to develop my pieces, to control the center, to prepare attacks systematically.

Once he had won my trust, Bruce taught me by allowing me to express myself. The main obstacle to overcome was my impetuosity. I was a talented kid with good instincts who had been beating up on street hustlers who lacked classical training.

Now it was time to slow me down and properly arm my intuition, but Bruce had a fine line to tread.

“He had to teach me to be more disciplined without dampening my love for chess or suppressing my natural voice. Many teachers have no feel for this balance and try to force their students into cookie-cutter molds.”

I have run into quite a few egomaniacal instructors like this over the years and have come to believe that their method is profoundly destructive for students in the long run – in any case, it certainly would not have worked with me.

I’m sure I was a tough kid to teach.

My parents raised a willful child. Even as a young boy I was encouraged to take part in the spirited dinner party debates about art and politics in my family’s living room. I was taught to express my opinion and to think about the ideas of others – not to follow authority blindly.

Fortunately, Bruce’s educational philosophy fit my character perfectly. He didn’t present himself as omniscient, and he handled himself as more of a guide in my development than as an authority.

If I disagreed with him, we would have a discussion, not a lecture.

Bruce slowed me down by asking me questions.

“Whenever I made an important decision, good or bad, he would ask me to explain my thought process. Were there other ways to accomplish the same aim? Had I looked for my opponent’s threats? Did I consider a different order of operations?”

Bruce didn’t patronize me—some teachers rebel so far away from being authoritarian that they praise all their little player’s decisions, good or bad.

Their intention is to build confidence, but instead they discourage objectivity, encourage self-indulgence, and perhaps most destructively, they create a dishonest relationship between instructor and pupil that any bright child can sense.

When I made a bad move, Bruce asked me what my idea was and then helped me discover how I could have approached the decision-making process differently.

Much of the time in our lessons was spent in silence, with us both thinking. Bruce did not want to feed me information, but to help my mind carve itself into maturity.

Over time, in his coaxing, humorous, and understatedly firm manner, Bruce gave me a foundation of critical chess principles and a systematic understanding of analysis and calculation.

While the new knowledge was valuable, the most important factor in these first months of study was that Bruce nurtured my love for chess, and he never let technical material smother my innate feeling for the game…”

****************************************************************************************

Now as a business person, one of the most important identities you could ever slip into is that of being a “marketer.”

Why?

Because if you use Jay Abraham’s classic definition of what marketing is, you’d hear him describe it as…

“The never-ending education of your clients and customers as to why they should do business with you, instead of your competitor and instead of doing nothing.”

This means, that like Bruce in the example above, we’re responsible to our business, our employees and our clients and customers to be the greatest teacher possible so that our businesses thrive BECAUSE our customers and clients thrive under our protection and education.

How To Become The Greatest Marketer In Your Industry

“I had to trust someone to let them into my thought process, and Bruce had to overcome this shield before the work could begin.”

Remember this part of the story? Well, this don’t just apply to chess. No sir-e Bob.

You have to overcome your prospects shield WAAAY before you present them with something to buy… if you’re at all concerned with building a relationship with them. But what’s the best way to go about this?

Remember this part of the story…

“So we talked about life, sports, dinosaurs, things that interested me. Whenever the discussion turned to chess, I was stubborn about my ideas and refused to receive formal instruction.”

Your prospects are 6-12 year olds in adult bodies.

Whenever you talk about shit that they aren’t interested in when attempting to market, they shut down, tune you out, and eventually ignore you to go check out the thong sticking out of the top of pants of the hot babe ie. your competitor who speaks directly to what they want.

Look at these examples of Q&A from Eben’s Guru Blueprint Course and see if you can find where you’d start so that you can break through your prospects resistance and make selling a 1,000x easier…

Q: Do you interview potential clients as you are defining your niche? If so, how do you do that?

A: Yes you do. In the next series of trainings they’ll talk more about this. It’s the best thing you can do, interview people personally, it’s priceless and you should be doing some form of this everyday.

You want to ask them what their biggest fear or frustration is AND what their biggest desire and goal is.

We tend to think that we’re gonna be able to imagine the need, identify it and make a product and people are gonna buy it. The reality is, that when you start asking people, they say things that you wouldn’t have thought of, yet are amazingly simple and almost dead obvious.

He has been led to one niche after another and launched successful products because he’s done surveys and interviews, questioned audiences to try to figure out what their frustrations were.

So the answer is yes, interview them.

Q: I chose my niche on how to stop obsessing about food all the time and have a simple system to lose weight permanently. Does my niche need to be smaller, tighter? Is it for people who binge, people who don’t understand why nothing they’re trying is working, people who don’t know what diet to choose?

A: What I recommend you do is that in whatever niche you go towards, start talking to people. Start asking them the questions, “What are you looking for? What are the solutions you’re out hunting for? What are you considering buying right now?”

You can even ask, “What have you tried that didn’t work?”

One of the things that you need to consider when you’re in a highly competitive niche, which weight loss is, is the fact that you’ve gotta figure out where there’s a need that isn’t being met but that’s wide open and available. You can always find one if you just talk to people and ask lots of questions.

You should definitely do a check to see if people are searching for the terms you’re using. “Why nothing they’re doing,” is too broad. Binging is specific. Talk to customers and ask them what their biggest fear or frustration or desire is and you’ll find something more specific.

Q: In gauging a market you suggested checking out forums, etc. to get a sense of what people are looking for. So with Double your Dating, how did you figure out the numbers and how to test the market?

A: With Double Your Dating I figured this out for myself for the couple of years I was working on reading books and trying to figure out how to get dates, I’d met a lot of people who, as I realized, as I had the conversation with them live, every time I would talk about it, some guy would say, “Whoah, how does that work? Or what did you learn?” and I could just see that by talking to people in the real world that it would work out.

Now when I’m talking about going into forums, what I’m talking about is going into forums and discussion groups and starting conversations on websites like Linked in and Facebook with your followers and your friends and network and get into a conversation with the group of people that’s interested in solving problems in the general topic and then once you’ve found that group of people that has that need, then you dig in and specifically ask “If I had a program that could teach you…” and then give them some specific and measurable thing, like “get a girlfriend in 19 days” or “lose 10 pounds in 30 days.” And then ask questions about what they think the price should be and stuff like that and based on that you start to get a feel for if your idea in real demand or not.

You can get a lot out of just reading a forum, but getting into the discussion and hitting a vein of gold, that’s when you can start targeting specifically.

***************************************************************************************

Did you see the single most important strategy that Eben  beat to death, not only in these three questions, but through the 12 weeks of his course?

Did my highlighting, italicizing, bolding make it clear enough for you?

Good.

So the action step for you today is to ask your prospects in person or on the phone, none of this survey pussy shit, these questions…

If you’re interviewing a person or doing a free consult for them, at first you want to ask a few superficial questions like…

“How long have you been interested in this topic?”

“How long have you been trying to solve your problem?”

And once someone has answered these questions and gotten somewhat comfortable, then you can ask direct questions such as…

Question #1: What’s your biggest fear or frustration with (Challenge)?

Question #2: What have you tried so far that hasn’t worked for you?

Question #3: What’s your biggest fear when it comes to (Challenge)?

Question #4: What worries you-what are you afraid will happen if you don’t do something immediately?

Question #5: What would it look like if it were perfect? What would you be willing to do to solve/get (Challenge)?

Question #6: If you could have one question answered about (Challenge) what would it be?

***PRO TIP***If you absolutely can’t talk to your prospects, ask them to answer these questions via email instead of in a survey format. Email will give you a lot deeper answers. For years it’s been classified in people’s minds as intimate communication, so ride on back of that if you want quality answers

Most business people are afraid to ask direct questions. They don’t want to be rude.

But what Eben has found is that when you’re talking to someone who’s serious about solving a problem, or getting their desire met, they will literally tell you ANYTHING.

So go test this out. In Part 2 of this post, I’ll show you the notes that show you 7 Powerhouse Steps That Guarantee Any Product You Build Using The Answers To These Questions… Will Sell Like Celebrity Porn!

Talk soon,

Note Taking Nerd #2

