Hey you,

I’m sure by now you’ve read Nerd#2’s 90 day challenge.

If not scroll up and check it out.

After reading it I’ve been inspired.

I’m pretty sure it was #2’s way of subconsciously calling me out.

That little pansy walks around the office like he’s king shit. I’m pretty sure he called me a “fat ass” under his breath the other day while he settled into his 13th set of bodyweight squats.

Well guess what Little Nerd (my loving reference to Lewis the wonder nerd) I’m stepping up and gonna Kick Yo Ass!

Alright I’m not quite as cool as him cuz I just don’t have the Nuts for a full on 90 day commitment so I’ve settled for the “60 Day Wimpy” version.

This is just me sticking with my Mantra I preach all day to consulting clients and mastermind members about being pragmatic and real.

After all I’ve been pretty much Exercise and “Stretch Goal” free for a few years now.

Alright here we go…

OMG! PUBLIC COMMITMENT #1:

100% Committed to the Slow Carb Diet and to “Moving” for 6 days a week (20 minutes minimum) AND ….(drum roll please) LOSING 40 POUNDS OR MORE IN THE PROCESS …ALL WHILE ENJOYING THE PROCESS!

Why?

This is simple. Ummm let’s see I’m FAT! (no… really fat) and have a bad Heart. Oh and I really, really, want to live a long healthy life so that I can see my Little Angel Nerd Daughter grow up.

I owe it to you guys! Yep I said it. Because I’m not healthy I don’t have the energy to make all the things happen that I want to for you guys. So cheer me on here as you get rewarded because I will have more focus, energy, and passion.

My Action Plan…

  • Follow the Slow Carb Plan to a T and Once a Week have a “Pig Out Fest” which will lead to a speedier metabolism and balance so the diet isn’t so hard. Read below for details.
  • Walk 20 – 30 minutes per day 6 days per week. I should say “Weeble Wabble” because I’m sure that’s what it looks like.
    • I can replace this with basketball, boxing, hiking, …whatever I want as long as I’m moving and my heart rate is elevated.

Here’s a bit about the Slow Carb Diet:

I’m not going to reinvent the wheel here: Tim Ferris of 4 Hour Work Week Fame has an excellent article on this diet here: SLOW CARB DIET

Here is what I can eat:

Eat the same few meals over and over again

The most successful dieters, regardless of whether their goal is muscle gain or fat loss, eat the same few meals over and over again. Mix and match, constructing each meal with one from each of the three following groups:

Proteins:
Egg whites with one whole egg for flavor
Chicken breast or thigh
Grass-fed organic beef
Pork

Legumes:
Lentils
Black beans
Pinto beans

Vegetables:
Spinach
Asparagus
Peas
Mixed vegetables

Eat as much as you like of the above food items. Just remember: keep it simple. Pick three or four meals and repeat them. Almost all restaurants can give you a salad or vegetables in place of french fries or potatoes. Surprisingly, I have found Mexican food, swapping out rice for vegetables, to be one of the cuisines most conducive to the “slow carb” diet.

AND

ONE DAY PER WEEK I GET TO EAT AS MUCH AND OF ANY FOOD I WANT!! YEAH!!!!!!

OMG! PUBLIC COMMITMENT #2: SUPER DADDY! My daughter calls me the “Magical” Best Daddy In The Whole World…Guess what? I don’t deserve that label. Yeah…I do my proverbial best but I’m nowhere near to living up to the standards I have for myself.

Why?

Although I consider the Fact that I’m a single father and that my little girl has to grow up with Mommy and Daddy not together a HUGE failure ….I am committed to providing her My Personal Best for the rest of her life.

My Action Plan…

**Everything below is 5 days per week minimum**

  • Wake up with her and have breakfast together. Yep sound crazy dumb but how often do we as parents spend quality time with our kids? I suspect entirely too little. When she first wakes up she’s so receptive and loving. I want this time to be setting the tone for the day with the right questions. One on One time together. This is tough for me because I’m a night owl and a workaholic but I’m committed.
  • Take a Full Hour during the day to get outside too move and play together. Lately this has been here kicking my ass with her Barbie Three Wheeler. I’m not kidding she definitely could win the Indy Five Hundred of Barbie Racing. It’s fun to watch, talk, and hang out while I’m walking. Then too stop and let her play in the park is icing on the cake.
  • Take 15 – 30 Minutes to create a “Magic Moment”. Learned this from Tony Robbins years ago. Concept is simple. At the end of life we will remember moments not the mundane details of everyday. For my little girl it’s all about watching her do a dance, sing for me, dance with her, play “Babies”, or whatever it is she’s into at the moment. Point is that I’m selfish and spend way too little time doing these things with her. Not anymore. Let me know your favorite Play Dates with your kids below. Daddy Daughter Magic Time is about to begin.
  • Read for 15 – 20 Minutes at the end of everyday before Nite Nite Time. Not easy crap always either. I’m going to bring out the Little Inner Nerd in her and share some grown up stuff as well.

So there ya have it. Doesn’t seem like much but at the end of the day, then another, and over time it adds up to a really magical experience for her and I.

OMG! PUBLIC COMMITMENT #3: Productivity Master!Now I’m pretty good with this, especially lately…BUT! Good enough is not good enough. I’m committed to being THE EXAMPLE of doing more then anyone could ever expect.

Why?

Because, right now, is a pivotal moment in MyNoteTakingNerd’s history.

We are growing fast and my workload is ever increasing.

It’s going to take complete and total focus from me to make things happen as expected.

And I want to have some resemblance of balance in my life.

My Action Plan…

  • Have Goals in One Folder I carry with me (printed), A copy on each of my computers, copy on my jump drive, and a copy uploaded to dropbox.com . Easy Access Always
  • Have complete set of projects printed out and also in activecollab (project software)
  • 1.5 Hours Planning session on Sunday. Pull from each goal and project actions for the week.
  • Plug as many of those tasks into my calendar. Time Chunk. Aim is to have 50% minimum of my time already accounted for at this point.
  • Daily in putting from action list to daily tasks (use google calendar or to.do.ly)
  • Every single time a scheduled call or meeting is done immediately put into my calendar and then email archived or written thrown away.

MOST IMPORTANT: Be anal about my time. Be on Task. One Task at a time only to completion. Be committed to finishing within the time I’ve set for myself.

ONE MORE: Not fully committed to any one plan but I’m going to be playing with the sleep schedule Nerd#2’s using. Going to be trying 4.5 hours sleep 90 minute nap and a 20 minute nap and I’m also going to try the 6 Hour, one nap approach. When I decide I’ll add it here and fill ya in.

There ya have it…

I’ll let you know at least once per week how things are going and what I’ve learned.

Let me know about your personal 30/60/90 challenges. Give me advice. Share!!!

Dexter

