The story told that convinced these love birds that it was a good idea to take this picture dressed the way they were was one helluva sales tale

Hey You,

It’s Lewis aka Nerd #2.

Today we’re at our next leg of Zig Ziglar’s Spiritual journey – one of the greatest sales presentations ever remembered and breathed life into from the stage. At least that I’ve come across.

If you missed Part 1 make sure to go here to read it because you’ll be lost if you don’t.

In our last installment of the Zig Ziglar “Stronger Than Paint Thinner Selling Stories” here’s where we left off…

I well remember our anniversary that November after I’d committed my life to Christ, we went out to a restaurant that was owned by the Red head’s hair dresser. And he knew it was our anniversary and when we got there he gave us a bottle of wine.

Now I knew about my commitment, never again, but I did not have the courage at that point to say to him, “No, we don’t drink.” And so the red head and I had that wine.

I got home and that 7 year old boy said to me, “Dad, did you drink any wine or anything?” and I said, “Yes I did son.” And if I live to be a 1,000 I’ll never forget his exact words. He looked softly at me and said, “Dad I can’t begin to tell ya how disappointed I am in you.”

I looked at my boy and said… 

“Son, I’m gonna make you a promise. You’ll forgive dad this time and I promise you that for the rest of my life I will never have to ask you for your forgiveness again.”

And I’ve kept that promise. Not in my strength, but in his.

[NERD 2 NOTE] Loss of love from what you thought to be your unconditional source of love is a great example of future consequences that could happen to you if you don’t glorify god. And it’s indirect. Just like that question is, “Does it glorify god?” He’s not telling you that it does or doesn’t. He’s letting you tell yourself the answer, which is the answer you’ll really believe.

After I was saved, I well remember, I was out in my swimming pool looking up into the heavens, really I was praising god as I lay there and I said, “God, I know you put this big beautiful universe together and know that one of these days you’re gonna take it down.” And at that precise moment a star fell.

I felt so close to god. He was saying to to me, “You’re absolutely right boy and don’t you ever forget it.” and I never have.

Two days later I had some time off and we decided to go on a little trip. We drove down to Corpus Christi and spent a day there and decided to go over to San Antonio and as we headed there my son said, “Dad, give me a bible story.”

Now you’ve gotta understand that here’s a boy who’s dad had not been taking him to church, had not been reading him the bible, had not been praying with him.

See when we moved to Dallas, in August of 1968 from Columbia, South Carolina, we didn’t have any friends here. Nobody was saying, “Let’s go to church.” Now in Columbia we always had friends who were going to church and we went because that was the thing to do.

On several occasions I almost made a commitment but now we come to Dallas and have no friends and Sunday was the only day I had. Now I wanna do something for myself and so we didn’t go to church.

[NERD 2 NOTE] Here lies the indirect implication of “I was a sinner where you are,” Once again he relates to the audience in the place they’re at now. You have to meet people where they are before they’ll trust you. He’s also giving you a little of “It’s not your fault if you’ve moved to big city and got out of the groove,” which is always pleasing to the ear of your prospect.

And now my boy says, “Dad, give me a bible story.”

Well, fortunately having been raised in the church I knew some bible stories so I gave him one and he said, “Give me another one dad,” and I gave him another one, “Give me another one dad,” and I gave him another, “Give me another dad,” and I gave him another.

And about that time I was running out of stories and I said, “Now boy when we get to San Antonio I’ll get the book out and give you more stories. We got to San Antonio, checked in, went up to the umpteenth floor and as the bellman set the bag down, he said, “Ok dad, get the book out and give me a story. I got the book out and I did remembered to go to the book of Exodus so I could get me a continuing story there and I read and finally I said, “Boy, I’m hungry we got to go get something to eat.”

He said, “Ok dad. We’ll pick it up when we get back.”

We went to dinner and we came back in and the minute we walked in, he said, “Ok dad, get the book out and give me some more stories.” I read until I absolutely got sleepy.

I said, “Boy, I got to go to sleep.” He said, “Ok dad. We’ll pick it up tomorrow.”

We got up the next day, we’re gonna drive back to Dallas and normally I drive. But as we headed for the car he said, “Dad, tell you what, let’s let mom drive, you get the book out and I want you to give me a story.”

When you take that move toward god, you’ll find that he’s already heading in your direction. He’s been waiting for you all of your life.

[NERD 2 NOTE] This last line is a dose of what Eben Pagan calls “Magic”. Anytime you’ve got an element of what you sell that makes desirable results happen with little to no effort on your part, you want to use the hell out of that. 

We got to Dallas, I went to the book store and got a copy of Taylor’s bible stories and I started reading the stories to him. I thought he could relate to these better than he could the old King James which was so popular back then.

And as some of you might suspect by now, I kinda bring a little extra to the story. Now I don’t add to the bible, don’t get me wrong. But I kinda dramatize it.

Everybody’s favorite story is David and Goliath. Everybody knows that, that’s just a given. When we got to this story as I was dramatizing talking about big ole’ 9’ 7’’ Goliath and lil itty bitty David hadn’t even started shaving yet and he runs up there and he says to his brother, “What’s that fella doing?”

And he said, “Why David can’t you see he’s challenging us.” And when you understand for 40 days and for 40 nights Goliath had been brainwashing them saying send someone at me and I’ll kill em. Well, David said, I”ll take him on.”

And they said, “David you’re crazy. People get hurt by fellas like that.” People figured Goliath was too big too hit, David looked at him and figured he was too big to miss. It’s the way you look at things.

They looked at Goliath and compared him to them and that made him big. David looked at him and compared him to god and that Goliath awfully small.

I’m here to tell ya I was telling that story to my boy and I said, “Wasn’t David a brave boy?” And you gotta kinda reverse our ages and you gotta make him 45 and me 7 as he said, “Yeah dad, David was brave but Goliath was the brave one.” I said, “Oh, how do you figure that boy?” And he said, “Dad, you gotta understand Goliath was out there right by himself. David had god with him.” I said, “Boy, you know, I never thought of it like that.”

Now I’ve got a smart son, but he ain’t that smart. That was god’s holy spirit that was speaking through my son.

God manifested himself in another way. I’d been invited to send in some information to a major national company to do a sales meeting for them. Well I sent them all the stuff, wrote them a glowing report on myself, pointed out how marvelous I would be as their presenter you know and just knew I was gonna get the deal. I knew I was the best qualified and surely they would invite me.

About a month later I got a letter that said, “We’re sorry but we decided to get someone else.” Well, you know I’m always of the stiff upper lip variety and put up that good front you know, you win some, you lose some and some are rained out but I really was disappointed.

On the trip to Corpus Christi I got a call back and I talked with my office and they said “This company has called you and reported that the guy they hired has such filthy language that they can not and will not use him and they want you.”

And it seems that God almost interrupted the conversation and said, “You see there boy, when you leave it up to me, I’ll handle things for you.”

[NERD 2 NOTE] More magic used in the form of real life events (awesome tool to use because it personalizes everything and gives you a glimpse into the presenters private life) to bring a little extra flair to the story he’s telling. This works beautifully on this crowd because he’s woven it in also as EVIDENCE that this is god stuff is real.

Now understand that god handles himself and manifests himself differently in different ways. Don’t ever think for one moment that everybody has the same experience. Each one of us are individuals and god deals with us differently.

[NERD 2 NOTE] Here’s the “Results are not typical” copy that’s supposed to help you believe there’s a logical explanation for these “miracles” that are happening. This is a subtle strategy to use to help keep the non-believers listening, letting them know that you sound like you’re full of shit and you realize that and here’s why my results aren’t typical.

Almost immediately after I became a Christian, a need arose in our family, and understand, I was broke and in debt at that particular point and something happened and we immediately needed an extra $500 dollars a week.

[NERD 2 NOTE] Remember, if you’re gonna tell these stories, that specificity matters. One thing Zig could’ve done to make this more real is tell what the $500 dollars was needed for. Instead he avoided it. Even if it was for a personal matter, saying that makes a difference. But if you tell the real life event, no matter how unique it is, there are people in your audience who will relate to you and feel even more connected to you. Dan Kennedy tells the story about people bonding with him when he revealed he stuttered and waiting to come talk to him at the end of the seminar. Details matter.

I want to emphasize that in 1972, $500 dollars represented a considerable sum of money. We were already struggling.

Something amazing happened!!! This major corporation, one of the Fortune 500 I’d done a series with them and about that time they wrote me a letter that said, “We want you to do another series but if you don’t mind, we would like to pay you in advance so we can get it in this years budget.”

Well because of my gracious understanding nature, I agreed to go along with their request. Regretfully of course, but I agreed.

Now here’s the interesting thing. In all of the years before and all of the years since, that has never happened again where somebody wanted to pay me for a series in advance.

That money met our needs. We have a great god ladies and gentleman. My picture of what a Christian is changed immediately. My picture of faith changed immediately.

You see I believe faith is a football game and a car payment.

[NERD 2 NOTE] Get ready for one of the all-time great metaphors for faith that you’ll ever hear. What makes this metaphor work is that it connects an abstract subject like – “Faith” to something everyone can understand. This is something you need to do when talking about something that’s complicated or confusing about your service or product. Watch the master at play…

I don’t know how many of you are football fans but do you remember a few years ago when the Dallas Cowboys were playing Minnesota for the NFC Championship up in Minneapolis? How many of you remember that particular game?

Well any casual observer of the game, and I’m gonna tell this in a completely unbiased, unprejudiced way. I will simply give you facts in the matter as any die hard, loyalist Dallas Cowboy fan would give it.

Now it was obvious to anybody that the Cowboys were the vastly superior team. We shoulda had about 68 to nothin’ going down at the end but there it was, we had 54 seconds to play, the Cowboys were behind, it was 4th down and 19 to go, we were on our own 22 yard line and incredibly enough some of the Dallas Cowboy faithfuls at that point lost their faith.

There was weepin’ and wailin’ and gnashin’ of teeth. They said, “Them ole Cowboys, we don’t get beat, we beat ourselves.” I was sittin’ there saying, “Don’t worry about a thing. Hey, we just got 19 yards to go for a first down, we still got 54 seconds left, Staubach is good and healthy, no problem.”

Well you remember the very first play? He sent Drew Pierson straight ahead, he got down to the 49 yard line of the Vikings headed for the sideline and just as he got to the sideline Staubach hit em with the perfect pass, now while Pierson was up in the air, one of those Vikings pushed him out of bounds.

Now that ain’t right.

And they caught him at it. And so we got the ball right there and everyone around me erupted and jumped up and down, shoutin’ and hollerin’ acting like a bunch of teenagers. I just sit there and never moved. Calm, cool, and collected. Ole’ ice water Ziglar I’m telling you.

There’s no doubt in my mind about who’s gonna win that ball game, no waaaay were the Cowboys gonna lose.

Well, on the very next play, our center had gotten hurt and the substitute center dribbled the ball back to Staubach on the frozen turf and Staubach had to grab it up, threw it over the center, bad pass incomplete.

Everybody moaned and groaned. I said, “Hey, don’t worry about a thing. We still got nearly 40 seconds left, it’s only 2nd down, Staubach’s still in control everything’s gonna be OK.”

Do you remember the next play?

He sent Drew Pierson straight for the end zone, lil bitty guy 4’ 11” weight about 78 pounds and Staubach put the ball up in the air and it stayed there 2 minutes and 29 seconds. By the time it got down, Pierson was surrounded by 9 of those Vikings, they were kickin’ and scratchin’, clawin’ and one of em even bit him.

Pierson ignored this crowd, caught the touchdown pass, wins the game and the stadium erupted. I never left my seat. Never was there any doubt in my mind about the outcome of that game.

Now I gotta confess, one of the reasons that I was so confident was because I was watching a replay.

And you say, “Ziglar, you dirty dog! The game was over, your team had already won and you had absolutely nothing to worry about.”

You see that’s what being a Christian is.

I never played football. I was too little, too slow, too scared, have a low thresh hold of pain. I didn’t play football but they tell me that there’s a big book of rules and they tell me that regardless of how good you are, if you break enough of the rules, that you’re going to lose the game.

Well, in the game of life, there’s also a book. But this is a book of love.

[NERD 2 NOTE] This sentence here is another tool you need in your persuasion tool box. It’s a reframe. The bible isn’t a book of rules, it’s a book of love. This is the same thing you see when people present price and instead of saying, “Here’s how much this costs…” They say, “Your investment in this course is only…” This is a classic tactic.

And I have read this book. I’ve read the last chapter. I know how the game ends. I know I’ve already won it.

Now if you know how the game ends and you know you’ve already won, doesn’t that remove an incredible amount of doubtand fear and frustration and worry out of your life. That’s what’s exciting to me about knowing Christ as lord and savior?

[NERD 2 NOTE] What a wonderful leading question. He presumes you’re on board with him because the “Truth” is obviously staring you right in your face. It’s unquestionable logic isn’t it? You’d have to retarded not to answer yes to this question, wouldn’t you? You see questions like this artfully used in the greatest sales copy ever written and it’s appropriate that Zig is using this strategy being he’s one of the world’s greatest salesman.

See I believe faith really is a car payment.

I get so amused at the number of people who say you know, “I have no trouble at all with genesis 1;1 at the beginning, god created the heavens and the earth. I have no trouble at all believing that Christ broke the bread and fed the multitudes. I have no trouble believing he split the red sea and that 2 million Jews walked through to dry land. I have no trouble whatever believing those bible miracles but Zig ya see, I’ve got a car payment and it’s due next Thursday. No god can split all that water he wants to but he’s never dealt with one of these finance companies before.”

Think of the absurdity of that.

People say, “Lord, I know you created the universe but lemme tell you about that walnut I married I don’t think you could get along with her. Or lord lemme tell ya about that man I’m married to or let me tell about that teenager or that child of mine! Lord I know you did all of these other things but let’s face it, you can’t get personal and solve our day to day problems.”

[NERD 2 NOTE] You wouldn’t expect a master salesman to not bring up objections before you can, would you? This is a must in any selling situation. It’s harder though from the stage or in copy in print or pixel because your prospect isn’t right in front of you to tell you what their concerns are. But you’re see how Zig’s going to do it here…

 END OF PART 2

Tune in for Part 3 to see how you can use Zig’s magnificent objection overcoming strategies in your business.

Talk soon,

Lewis LaLanne aka Note Taking Nerd #2

