I would totally give this guy at least $5 bucks to go spend on whatever he wanted for brightening my day

Hey You,

It’s Lewis aka Nerd #2.

How is it possible for crack-addicted, aids-infested, homeless bums to CONSISTENTLY pocket more more money in one day (only to donate it ALL to their local dope dealer) than 85% of the American population does in one week? 

I’ll let Michael Masterson tell you.

And just in case you’ve forgotten what a BAD MOTHERFUCKER Michael is, here’s a snapshot of his Michael Jordan like business track record…

Michael Masterson has developed a loyal following of more than 450,000 subscribers with Early To Rise, and e-newsletter published by Agora, Inc. Throughout his remarkably successful business career, Masterson has been involved in two businesses that grew beyond $100 million (one of which has grown to nearly $300 million), tow more that exceeded $50 million, and several that surpassed the $10 million mark.

In reading this and reading his writing you come to the conclusion that he knows his shit. The other day I talked about recently having finished reading his book “The Pledge – Your Master Plan For An Abundant Life” and that is where today’s following lesson came from . . .

THE JUNKIE SECRET

As a teenager I had the impulses of a junkyard dog. If someone looked at me “wrong,” I started barking. This resulted in many scraps – most of them against bigger and more skillful fighters.

I managed to “win” a great many of them, however, because I was able to tap into something inside of me – some form of fury, I suppose – that fueled my aggression.

Something like that exists in the realm of wealth building. There is something that burns – or at least glows – inside you that can – if you tap into it – transform you into a money-making megalomaniac (MMM).

And as an MMM, you will never:

  • Have another sluggish moment.
  • Feel confused about what you need to do.
  • Doubt your ability to make money.
  • Hesitate to after it.

Does that sound good? Or scary?

If it sounds scary, don’t feel bad. Most people are afraid of change – and most especially of internal change. What I am about to talk about is very much internal change. It goes deep. It stays long. And it changes the way you think and feel.

When offered a chance to change, most people think, “I’m not entirely satisfied with myself now, but I don’t hate myself, either. If I change in some way I don’t expect, I might lose control or become even unhappier than I am now.  Better to stay the way I am.”

But if it sounds good, you’re in luck. I am going to give you the secret I used to fuel my money-making ambitions in the past and use now to motivate me to write books and make movies.

I call it The Junkie’s Secret.

Consider the Humble Coke Addict

Take an ambitionless, aimless young man in his 20’s.

He’s a high-school dropout, which means he’s functionally illiterate. Having been deprived of a good family, he is also angry and unmotivated. To make matters worse, he is not the naturally bright but deprived young man you see in the movies. He’s dumb as a dish rag.

Let me ask you: What is this young man likely to do for a living? You guessed right – nothing.

But if he were to work . . . if he could be somehow forced to work through some amazingly successful government program . . . how much money would he make?

You guessed right again – about $48 a day or $6 an hour – before taxes.

Now take that same stupid, lazy kid and give him a good, old-fashioned, crack-cocaine addiction.

How much money would he make then?

You guessed it again – he could make a fortune!

In the early 1980’s, I lived in what is sometimes referred to as a “transitional” neighborhood in Washington, D.C. For several years, I had the opportunity to observe the incessant, almost compulsive money-making routines of junkies.

Day in and day out, these illiterate, uneducated, dirty, destitute, drugged-out, and degenerate creatures would go out into a very unfriendly world and hustle for money.

They begged. They pleaded. They panhandled. They stole. They ran card games and cons of every possible variety. And they made lots of money.

I read a longish article in the Washington Post at that time that said many of these jokers were making $300 to $400 a day to feed their habits.

(Seeing things from this vantage point makes it very easy to see why drug dealers become so rich, so fast. The have a starving, dependent, and most importantly, and a market whole-heartedly dedicated to seeking out a solution to their problem.)

That made an impression on me. I mean, hell, these guys were making more than I was. And I had two degrees and three jobs.

The more I thought about it, the more amazing it seemed to me. Here you have all these total life losers out there on the street making more money than a young journalist or a high-school teacher.

Very Impressive People

The fact they were uneducated junkies didn’t make their accomplishments any less impressive. Quite the contrary.

These were people whose primary goal in life was to numb themselves into a stupor. Yet they could go out into the unfriendly streets and earn two or three times the money I could inside a fancy, friendly office.

The more I thought about it, the more interested I became. I had a good idea of what a junkie did to earn his money. But I couldn’t for the life of me figure out where he got the emotional strength to do it.

So I decided to start talking to some of my neighborhood junkies. They were easy to talk to. A dollar would buy a five-minute conversation. Five dollars and a cup of coffee could buy me five of them.

I eventually befriended three junkies. An old man named George who had once worked for the post office, a young man named Dean who had never worked a legitimate day in his life, and  a mother of three named Desiree. At least that’s what she told me her name was.

They all worked on 14th street, which was the main corridor for hookers and drug addicts. I was also the crossroad I had to pass to get to Mrs. Phoenix’s, the lady who took care of our eldest son while we were working downtown every day.

After dropping Number One Son (N1S) off at his babysitter’s I would spend a few minutes with George, Dean, or Desiree. I’d ask them casually about where they lived, when they slept, when they “worked,” and so on.

Gradually, I figured out how they could make so much money every day. It wasn’t some clever trick or con they were practicing (although they did have a few tricks they employed when they could). It was a combination of three very old-fashioned virtues.

Three Habits of Highly Successful Crackheads

1. George, Dean, and Desiree worked longer hours than I was working. I thought I was a hard worker because I worked 12 hours a day. These three worked every waking hour – which generally meant 18-20 hours a day.

2. Each of them worked with a single-minded purpose. Although they had occasional “kick-back” moments when they talked to me or nodded, 90 percent of their conscious time was focused on getting the money they needed to get their next fixes. I, by contrast, had a dozen interests and alternate ambitions that pulled me away from my job. But not them. They never diverted from their singular goals.

3. But the most important difference between George, Dean, Desiree, and me had to do with something deeper. Their addiction was much stronger than my ambition. And because of that, they would do whatever it took to get the money they needed.

If you study the lives of America’s most successful people, you will discover that they too:

  • Worked long and hard.
  • Stayed focused on one goal.
  • Made sacrifices to succeed.

Read the biography of Andrew Carnegie and you will see these three traits repeated throughout his life. Watch a documentary about Warren Buffet or Bill Gates and you will discover the same thing.

It’s something to think about, isn’t it?

Working long and hard is important to success. And having determination and focus is important, too. But to achieve really big goals . . . to climb into a whole new category . . . you have to do more.

If you took away his crack addiction, our illiterate young burger flipper could work as hard as he wanted . . . but he’d never make $600 a day. That can come only from the willingness to do whatever it takes, including things that are risky, uncomfortable, new, worrisome, or even dangerous.

Junkies Don’t Get The Respect They Deserve.

Imagine what the addict’s life is like. You wake up on a park bench smelling like urine. You stretch, rub the sores on your face and fore-arms, and say to yourself, “Up and at ‘em, boy. Today you are going to go out there – to that cold and unfriendly city – and get your hands on six hundred bucks.”

Could you do that? Day after day? I couldn’t. Not unless I was addicted to something.

How To Tap Into The Unappreciated Power of The Junkie

You can have the junkie’s gift. And you don’t even have to smoke crack to get it.

Somewhere inside you there is a fire burning. It’s your core desire to be loved and appreciated. We all have it. And it is always very strong.

If you leave this fire alone, it will eventually burn itself out. Your life will slip by meaninglessly. When you die, your dreams will, too.

If you fan the flames of your core desire, the fire will grow. And that will mean one of two things: You will have the success you yearn for. Or you will do nothing, and the heat will scorch you from the inside out.

You have to find that burning desire inside you. And you have to use it live your life.

It is damn hard to get a new venture going, to launch a new career, or to really break away from the past. It is difficult because it is different. And because it requires you to go beyond your comfort zone.

Take a look at your to-do list for today, as an example. There is probably something there you don’t want to do. You know it is important. You have highlighted it. Yet, you are reluctant to do it.

Maybe it is making a difficult phone call. Or performing a tedious task. It is highly likely it is something you are not comfortable with.

That’s why you haven’t done it so far. And that’s probably why you’re competitors haven’t done it either.

If you want to achieve more than you have ever achieved, you have to be willing to do more than you have ever done before. You need to commit yourself, put in the hours, stay focused, and yes, do that unpleasant but very necessary task.

So do this right now. Pretend for a moment that you are a junkie and that getting your fix depends on accomplishing the one goal that escapes you. What – if your physical well-being depended on it – would you do to absolutely, positively (failure is not an option) succeed?

Set aside your qualms. Ignore your fears, at least for the moment. If nothing else mattered, what is it that you would do?

Got it? Good.

Now ask yourself: Why aren’t you doing that?

Do you have a moral objection? A doubt? A fear of failing? Get those feelings out and take a hard look at them. That’s what’s keeping you from what you desire.

Face your feelings squarely. Think about how they are blocking you. If you do that fully and honestly today, you will have accomplished something important.

Why Positive Thinking Doesn’t Work For Most People . . .

END OF BOOK EXCERPT

Maybe you’ve never witnessed addiction first hand in your life, but I have. In my direct family – multiple members. None of that ‘step-cousin all the way across the country that you’ve only met twice in your life’ bullshit.

If there’s one thing these people tap into, it’s their resourcefulness. They ask the quality of questions that get shit done and money put in their pocket (temporarily) in order to go out and pay cash for an extremely expensive product and did so for years – not months. And none of them had the luxury of funding their habits with credit.

So I agree with Michael’s example here 100%. Follow his advice. And definitely go out and get his book. It’s a solid action plan from cover to cover on how to get from where you are to where you want to be.

Talk soon,

Lewis LaLanne aka Note Taking Nerd #2 

 

